A Sendoff to the Class of 2013

By Tim Pate

College of Business graduates enjoy commencement

College of Business graduates enjoy commencement

This week’s post (by virtue of the title alone) runs the risk of being a bit sappy and sentimental, so I’ll do my best to keep it professional. You all have probably shed and seen enough tears for all the graduation hullabaloo,  and I don’t intend to contribute to the melancholy any more than I have to. That being said, here begins my blog post reflecting on my time as an undergraduate student at Colorado State University.

Two weeks ago, I sat in my room, putting the final touches on a school project, when I realized that the work I was completing was not just another college project – it was the final project. When it was done, there would be no more. For some reason, this simple fact hit me harder than all the well-wishings and congratulations I had received from family and friends in the preceding days and weeks. And suddenly I began to cherish that last project – I began to enjoy it.

This insignificant experience gave way to my realization of how representative my final project was of the conclusion of my college experience. Under any other circumstances, that project would have been just another part of college life – another small hurdle on my way to the finish line. On some level, I think that’s how I’ve viewed too much of my college experience. The classes, the events, the involvement, the mishaps were all part of a means to a grander end.

What this last project taught me was that I need to remember to take the time to appreciate those stepping stones that lead to the ultimate finale. Those awkward roommate situations freshman year; the nights spent in Old Town; the class presentations; the once-in-a-lifetime extracurricular events – all of these things were special in their own right.

Looking forward, I know that I will have the opportunity to take advantage of more small moments that culminate in something big. Life in the real world appears a bit daunting – I’ll admit that – and I know that I’m going to fail a few times before I find what works for me. However, I’m going to try to do my best to make my failings and my successes count and to take the time to acknowledge them individually.

There are a lot of naysayers out there who don’t believe in the potential of our generation. I think they’re wrong. I think that we’re going to make a difference that probably none of us can even foresee at the moment. But I hope that whatever happens along the way, we do our best to appreciate the little things that lead to whatever changes we make. I’m going to try to start appreciating those mundane class projects like I did the last one.

Congratulations to the Class of 2013!

Leave a Reply

